Oregon Law Enforcement Increasing Its DUII Patrols After Edible Marijuana Made Available
According to KATU, two Oregon law enforcement agencies are planning on increasing their Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants (DUII) patrols over the next few weeks due to marijuana edibles being available to recreational users.
“Marijuana can impair the user for a period of up to 24 hours,” said Clackamas County Sheriff’s deputies, “so please plan ahead to have a sober driver or a place to stay the night.”
Both Clackamas County Sheriff’s deputies and Salem Police officers will increase the amount of DUII patrols through the weekend.
Adults over the age of 21 are now able to purchase edible marijuana extracts and oil products as Temporary Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR 333) went into effect in late June. According to Salem-News, consumers can purchase one unit of a low-dose marijuana edible each day. The total THC can’t exceed 15 milligrams.
“They [people] are really excited about trying some of these products,” said Crystal Young, manager of CannaMedicine. “We’re excited about sharing information, and our love of this wonderful product.”
The effects of THC after being ingested take much longer than that of traditional smoking methods. A user may feel impaired after smoking marijuana, but a person eating an edible could begin to see the effects up to four hours later.
“It’s scary to think a lot of people who smoke marijuana or eat a cannabis cookie,” said Brian Frazzini, a drug recognition expert and Salem police officer, “most people report in three hours they feel like they’re okay to drive and I’m here to tell you… you’re not even close to being okay to drive.”
The Oregon Health Authority states that you should not drive if you invest more than 15 milligrams of THC, which is the legal limit per edible in Oregon.
Oregon police officers will be looking out for all types of impaired drivers this summer. Oregon prohibits operating a vehicle if you have more than a .08% or above blood alcohol concentration (BAC).
Average drunk drivers have driven drunk more than 80 times before their first arrest. If you are arrested for drunk driving (after you immediately contact a criminal defense attorney), your license will be suspended for at least one year. Along with a suspension, you will also be forced to spend at least two days in jail or serve a court-ordered 80 hours of community service, along with a minimum fine of $1,000.
Criminal defense attorneys should be tenanted immediately after your arrest in Oregon. There are DUII attorneys who can assist you throughout the entire process and help you put this stressful situation behind you.
Contact Jared Justice today to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney.